Rethinking success: My journey to finding what truly matters

Jonathan Chung 🇫🇷
1 min readAug 28, 2024

What does success mean to you ?

Source: image by @curious.coffee

When I moved from Taiwan and start my career at age 25 in Paris, I thought I knew what success (should) look like:

  • Landing at a big company
  • Earning a high salary
  • Building a vast network

Coming from a culture that value hard work and achievement, I believe these were the makers of a successful life. So, I threw myself into challenges:

  • Working long hours
  • Taking countless new projects
  • Chasing every opportunity

I poured my energy to prove myself into a new country, believing in more accomplished would = more success.

But as I navigated the fast-paced workplace for a decade now, my perspective began to shift.

Now, I see success as:

  • Having control over my own time
  • Embracing a simple life
  • Spending time with loved ones

After years of chasing what I thought I needed, I learned that success isn’t about having More, it’s about having the freedom to choose what matters to you.

That’s my story, folks. So, what about you? What does success mean to you?

--

--

Jonathan Chung 🇫🇷

10+ Yrs in Paris | Senior leader in a Multinational | Sharing French Life & Career Insights